Harriers Awards Dinner and Parkrun Success

Sperrin Harriers celebrated a fine year with their Christmas Awards Dinner on Saturday evening, in a weekend which saw the club excel at the MUSA and Dungannon Parkruns.

Sperrin Harriers Christmas Awards Dinner

Sperrin Harriers held their annual Christmas Awards Dinner on Saturday night in the Glenavon Hotel, Cookstown. The night consisted of good food and entertainment, featuring an awards ceremony based around the club’s inaugural Summer Series along with recognising outstanding individual contributions.

Covering a range of distances from 5k to marathon the Sperrin Harriers Summer Series was held within the club and proved particularly popular amongst its members, the winning men emerging as Brian Taggart (1st), Paul McLaughlin (2nd) and Paul (Doc) Martin (3rd), along with the top women who were Joanne Taggart (1st), Karen Devlin (2nd) and Paula Glasgow (3rd). The Most Improved Male over the course of the competition was Damien Atkinson, and the Most Improved Female was Gillian Robinson. Those who participated in at least four of six eligible races received an award, with an impressive array of 36 Harriers winning the prize for their grit and dedication. Many congratulations to you all.

The evening also saw distinguished runner and good friend of the club Jim Breen, from Springwell Running Club, announce the lucky winner of the London Marathon ballot, Jason O’Neill taking the much coveted place with the reserve position going to Norman Fuller.

On a night which recognised the achievements of the club and its members, three individuals in particular were acknowledged for their exceptional contributions. The award of Members’ Member went to Paula Glasgow, with the Chairperson’s Award received by Raymond Thom, accolades very well deserved given the time and tireless commitment both have invested in Sperrin Harriers recently and over the years. Outgoing Chairperson Tanya Quinn was also rightly acknowledged for the invaluable service she has provided during her tenure in the post.

Many thanks go to all those involved in the organisation of what was a very memorable and successful evening, and to Russell Bell and Joyce McMullan for co-ordinating the first Summer Series and overseeing its success.

Here’s to Sperrin Harriers continuing to go from strength to strength in the years to come!


On a Saturday of top finishes and PBs Sperrin Harriers shone at the Cookstown and Dungannon Parkruns.

Brian Taggart was unassailable on taking first place at MUSA, while Ryan Treanor continued his fine form to finish second with a course personal best by 8 seconds. Connor Martin also produced a formidable performance to take fourth overall with his own course PB, bettering his previous fastest time by a considerable 26 seconds; indeed Shane Curtis achieved a great course PB of his own by the same 26 second margin. Many congratulations also go to Peter Mitchell who reached a momentous landmark by completing his 50th Parkrun on crossing the finish line.

Andrew Newell took a very convincing first place at Dungannon Park, ahead of the field by over 2 minutes and shattering his previous course personal best by 34 seconds. Martin Kolbohm also had a memorable day, shaving 14 seconds from his earlier fastest time at the event.

MUSA, Cookstown:

Brian Taggart 16:45 (1st Overall)

Ryan Treanor 17:11 (PB) (2nd Overall)

Connor Martin 17:17 (PB) (4th Overall)

Richard Fox 20:02

Damien McCaffrey 20:47

Shane Curtis 21:02 (PB)

Peter Mitchell 21:06 (50th Parkrun)

Jarleth Loughran 21:28

Jason O’Neill 21:33

Stephen Lynch 21:44

Norman Fuller 21:50

Doc Martin 22:00

Tanya Quinn 22:59

Michael McCrory 23:33

Kevin Heenan 24:56

Ellie Robinson 25:40

Hannah Glasgow 26:46

Ellen Glasgow 26:46

Gillian Robinson 33:49

Theresa O’Hare 46:08 (Tailwalker)

Dungannon Park:

Andrew Newell 17:31 (PB) (1st Overall)

Gerard Jones 22:11

Patsy Hughes 23:27

Martin Kolbohm 23:45 (PB)

Russell Bell 25:11

Martin Donaghy 25:38

Sperrin Harriers Winter League 2019/20

The Sperrin Harriers Winter League continues with the Lough Fea 5k on Saturday 14th December at 12 noon, an event located in the foothills of the Sperrin Mountains which follows a flat and fast course that circles the striking lake.

We would like to thank Kelly’s Pharmacy in Stewartstown for being the main sponsor of the Lough Fea 5k.

The Winter League has grown into one of Northern Ireland’s best loved set of trail races, attracting all types of runners from beginners to top athletes. Its popularity is testament to the picturesque venues, great atmosphere, and warm welcome that make the League so unique.

The 4 remaining League races are.

  • Lough Fea 5k, on 14th December 2019
  • An Creagan 5M, on 11th January 2020
  • Drum Manor 10k, on 1st February 2020
  • Parkanaur Forest 10M, on 15th February 2020

All races are chip timed and entry is £7 affiliated, £9 unaffiliated. Tea, coffee and refreshments are served to everyone taking part.

It is possible to pre-register on the club’s website, and you need only register once to cover all races:

Winter Series Pre-Registration Form

We look forward to seeing you at Lough Fea!