Parkrun Roundup

With the Winter League 5K race at Lough Fea, attendance at the Parkruns was smaller from the Sperrin Harriers. Martin flew the flag for the Harriers in the Netherlands this week and club PRO Sam Cuddy finally notched up 25 Parkruns at MUSA!

Amsterdamse Bos
Martin Kolbohm 24.29
Patsy Hughes 24.52
Tanya Quinn 24.26
Ellen Glasgow 24.29
Paula McMenemy 24.48
Hannah Glasgow 24.48
Sam Cuddy 24.56
Barry O’Neill 27.59
Gillian Robinson 28.28

The Parkrun Series 2023

Events co-ordinator, Richard Fox, organised a very successful summer Parkrun series where runners were encouraged to participate in a other Parkruns throughout the Province. The final winners are listed below.

Top three ladies
1st Paula McMenemy
2nd Jane Thom
3rd Tanya Quinn
Top three males
1st Paul McLaughlin
2nd Gordon Linton
3rd Mark Gibson

Annual Sperrin Harriers Awards

The Annual Awards evening was held in the Greenvale House Hotel on Saturday night. Our guest speaker was James Hughes from Springwell Runners. He had recently completed the Parkrun Challenge with local Harrier Coly Gallagher. They ran all 36 Parkrun venues in Northern Ireland. They started the challenge back in 2022 along with the running legend, Jim Breen. Tragically Jim passed away before the challenge was completed, but the other two men vowed to complete the challenge which they did this summer. James presented the Members’ Member of the Year to joint recipients Gillian Robinson and Damien Kelly. Chairperson, Tanya Quinn spoke of Gillian’s perseverance as well as her commitment on the Harriers Committee and to driving the bus for various races throughout the year. Tanya also praised Damien for his unselfish attitude at training and being one of the biggest encouragers at the finish line. The Chairperson’s Award was awarded to Joanne Corey. Joanne has recently got back to running again but has been working quietly and efficiently in the background this year. This work has not gone unnoticed and Tanya thanked her for her continued dedication to the club.

Winter League. Race 2. Lough Fea 5K

Congratulations to all our runners who participated in the second race of the Winter League. Thanks also to all who volunteered and to the marshals on the course.
Gordon Linton 19.30
Declan Morrison 20.15
Paul McLaughlin 20.34
Brian Bradley 20.48
James Hepburn 20.58
Vincent Hollywood 21.00
Damien Kelly 21.25
Kieran Campbell 23.11
Joanne Fingleton 23.34
Kieran Morrison 23.41
Damien Atkinson 23.50
Patricia Boyle 23.58
Niall Devlin 24.34
Dearbhla Glackin 24.56
Toirleach Gourley 25.01
Michael McCrory 25.08
Anthony O’Neill 25.30
James Rushe 26.29
Maxine McMenemy 26.56
Timothy Johnston 26.57
Maria Fitzpatrick 30.19
Gabrielle McBrien 34.20
Catherine Farley 41.00 (Tail runner)
Nicola Gillespie 41.00 (Tail runner)

In the main race Ricky Johnston just finished ahead of Davagh 10K winner Michael Crawley, while former Winter League Series winner, Aidan O’Hagan finished third. The Ladies race saw Dolores McLaughlin home in first followed by Alexa James and Nena Cormican.

c/o Sperrin Harriers