Sperrin Harriers Winter Series Concludes at Parkanaur

The final leg of the Sperrin Harriers Winter Series took place on Saturday with the Parkanaur 10M. Club members also attended the MUSA and Ecos Parkruns at the weekend.

Winter Series Parkanaur 10M

The Sperrin Harriers Winter League Trail Series reached its exciting conclusion on Saturday, with 158 runners descending on the course at Parkanaur. In a venue set against the backdrop of Parkanaur House and its grounds, the scenic and challenging course proceeded through the forest park, at times following the Torrent River, amid cool and dry conditions.

Alan Ritchie prevailed on the day, leading the field home in 62:22, followed by Oliver Cook in 62:50, with Jason Wilson completing the top three in 63:02.

Gemma McDonald was the first female to finish, crossing the line in 71:35, followed by Martsje Hell in 72:08 and Martina McMullan in 72:58.

A strong showing of Harriers was headed by Paul McLaughlin, who placed third in the 50-59 category with his impressive time of 68:35. He was joined at the finish by Brian Bradley in 75:10, Malcolm McCullough in 76:20, and Vincent Hollywood in 76:38. James Hepburn completed in 77:45, to be followed by Steven Dornan (80:49); Damien Coey (81:11); Gavin O’Hagan (81:49); Colm Gallagher (82:10); Paul O’Gara (83:13); Joshua Charleton (84:11); Patsy Hughes (84:48); Martin Kolbolm (85:52); Cate Farley (90:48); Martin Donaghy (99:53); with Anne Murphy closing proceedings on crossing the line as the tail runner.

With the Series now concluded many congratulations go to Tommy Hughes who was a very worthy winner of the Male Open category, followed by Oliver Cook in second, with third place going to Jason Wilson. Very well done to Gemma McDonald who won the Female Open category, Martina McMullan taking second, and Dolores McLaughlin achieving third overall.

A full listing of the final standings from the series can be found on the Sperrin Harriers website.

The Sperrin Harriers extend their thanks to everyone involved in the Parkanaur 10M, to those who ran, their supporters, and all who helped in its staging. Thanks also go to Oliver Corey Garages who sponsored the event. It is testament to the efforts of everyone involved throughout the Series that its return has been such a success, and we hope to see you all again soon.

Ecos Parkrun, Ballymena

Congratulations to Gordon Linton who led the field of 155 at Ecos Park, to finish first overall in 17:55.

MUSA Parkrun, Cookstown

On Saturday 84 Parkrunners took to the Cookstown course, Fred Devlin distinguishing himself once more on placing third overall in 17:49. Connor Martin was in hot pursuit, crossing the line in 18:08, followed by Jason O’Neill (20:43); Paula McMenemy (23:22); Damien Atkinson (24:04); Tanya Quinn (24:27); Terry Hughes (25:04); Barry O’Neill (27:45); and Amelia Corey (44:22).